1960 – The Council of the Lay Apostolate

The Council Of The Lay Apostolate

It is announced from Archbishop’s House, Westminster, that the Pope has appointed Mr. Patrick Keegan, K.S.G., to be a member of the Roman Council of Direction of the Permanent Committee for International Congresses of the Lay Apostolate. Mr. Keegan, who is a former International President of the Young Christian Workers, was the first Chairman of the National Lay Ap3stolate Group for England and Wales. The central Committee of Direction to which he is now appointed, of which Monsignor Alberto Castelli, titular Bishop of Jerichus, Monsignor Achille Glorieux and Father Jerome D’Souza, S.J., form the Ece1esiastical Commission, comprises ten lay men and women charged by the Holy See with responsibility for the organisation of International Congresses of the Lay Apostolate and other works in that field. With Mr. Martin Work, of the United States, Mr. Keegan will represent the English-speaking countries on the Committee of Direction.


The Tablet, 3 December 1960